Monday, February 23, 2009

Fudge Tunnel - Hate Songs in E Minor

Fudge Tunnel were from Nottingham, England and lasted from 1989-1995. They put out three albums and a handful of singles/EPs. Hate Songs in E Minor (also called Fudge Tunnel's First Movement) was their first full-length. It came out in 1991 on Earache Records.

The band had a sound that didn't fit comfortably into any one genre. Although, at times, they were saddled with both the metal and grunge tags. I've also heard the term noise-rock used to describe them and supposedly the band named Big Black as an inspiration for their sound.

This record is great. I used to have it on cassette but lost it years ago, so it's cool to rediscover it. Heavy as shit, but not overly repetitive and monotonous, there's enough variety in the songs that you can listen to it often and find something new to like each time.

Check out an mp3 of the song "Tweezers" and a video clip of the band's cover of Cream's "Sunshine of Your Love" below:


Earache only has Fudge Tunnel's last two records for sale on their site, but you can find used copies of Hate Songs on Amazon or download it on emusic.

No comments: